This is an abbreviated version. The full version could take weeks to perform.

It’s a meditative self induced psychotherapy exercise.

People ask: How can I change?

It’s not easy but I say you have to admit why you want to change? What is that you don’t like about yourself?

I say close your eyes and imagine an exact copy of yourself sitting right in front of you. An exact copy of you is sitting down in front of you and looking at you.

Observe the copy of yourself and think about the way it has behaved in the past, the way it is behaving now, and the way it will behave tomorrow.

Look at the person in front of you and think about the way it talks, walks, interacts and so on. It’s entire behavior. It’s existence. The way it is. This will take hours. Try to focus on the person’s actions. Don’t forget, you are looking at an individual that looks like you, but you are outside of it. You are not looking at yourself. You are looking at somebody who looks exactly like you.

The person that looks like you is sitting in front of you and you can judge the way it treats others, itself, the natural world. The way it lives. You can judge its every action but not its thoughts. Just like when you are observing a real person. Hours could go by.

Imagine all the things that the person in front of you might perform and that would annoy you.

Then, eventually, when you have gone through as many memories of the person that is sitting in front of you as you can, you stand up and say, I am going to walk away from the person that is sitting in front of me and I am never going to perform any of the actions the person in front of me performed. None.  The person in front of me looks like me and I have seen their actions and I don’t like them and I am never going to do what the person in front of me is doing or has done, etc.

I am going to walk away and be an empty person. I am going to begin to judge my thoughts and my actions with a new insight. Every time I imagine an action that I would like to perform I will imagine the person in front of me, who looks like me, perform the action on me (or towards me) and then I am going to asses if I enjoy them or if they create anger, pain, and so on. What would I think of the clone’s actions towards me? Would they be fair? Would they be selfish?

In other words, I will stop thinking about myself from my point of view. I am going to begin to consider myself and my actions (all of them) from a different point of view. A filtered point of view.

The point is to stop thinking that your actions need to get you what you want and to begin to observe the nature of your actions on the people and environment around you. A good way to do that, I think, is by visualizing yourself as being the recipient of your own action.

Or more to the point, the nature of your thinking acquires a dual state. It’s a dual state because you force yourself to consider the recipient’s emotional state but not from YOUR point of view which is always limited but by actually becoming the recipient of your own action. The aim to have you stop thinking only of yourself and acting through your own natural and unavoidably selfish identity. The aim is to acquire a dual state of mind that increases your sense of empathy because you experience the nature of your own actions.

Simply trying to imagine how other people might react to our actions, in my opinion, is not enough. It is not enough because our definitions of other people’s levels of emotional tolerance will be determined by our own perceptions of emotional tolerances and they are always defined by our experience of the world even though we would like to think that we can empathize more than we can. I think it’s better try to imagine how we would feel after receiving our own treatment rather than trying to imagine it from a point of view of a person whose inner emotional states we know nothing about have no way of accessing.

I could be wrong, of course.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

